A look at the next three Fifa World Cups

A look at the next three Fifa World Cups

In March 2004, the South American Football Confederation announced that Brazil will host the 20th FIFA World Cup in 2014. From June 12, 2014 to July 13, 2014, 32 teams will bestow upon the South American nation Brazil will be hosting the historic international football (soccer) tournament for the second time since 1950.

The qualification draw was held on July 30, 2011 in Rio de Janeiro. Brazil automatically qualified since it was the host nation.

12 Brazilian host cities were announced in May 2009. Half the cities will host games in brand new venues that were especially constructed and designed for the World Cup. Other stadiums will either be demolished and rebuilt or be upgraded.

Belo Horizonte Estadio Governador Magalhaes Pinto (Mineirao)

Brasilia Estadio Mane Garrincha (Estadio Nacional)

Cuiaba Arena Pantanal/Governador Jose Fragelli (Novo Verdao)

Curitiba Estadio Joaquim Americo Guimaraes (Arena da Baixada)

Fortaleza Estadio Placido Aderaldo Castelo (Castelao)

Manaus Arena Amazonia/Vivaldo Lima (Novo Vivaldao)

Natal Arena das Dunas/Joao Claudio de Vasconcelos Machado (Novo Machado)

Porto Alegre Estadio Jose Pinheiro Borda (Beira Rio)

Rio de Janeiro Estadio Mario Filho (Maracana)

Sao Paulo Novo Estadio de Corinthians

Brazil’s World Cup logo is called “Inspiration.”

In December 2010, 22 members of the FIFA Executive Committee convened in Switzerland to select the host for the 21st FIFA World Cup.

After nine nations inserted their bids Mexico later withdrew their bid and Indonesia’s bid was rejected by FIFA the committee chose Russia to host the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Russia defeated Spain, Portugal, Belgium, Netherlands and England.

Although the qualification process has yet to begin, the international tournament will begin on June 8, 2018 and end on July 18, 2018. The tournament will take place at 16 different venues in 13 host cities.

Kaliningrad Kaliningrad Stadium

Qatar will be the official host of the 22nd FIFA World Cup. It will be the first Arab nation to host such a prestigious international tournament. Although no dates have been established, the country introduced their logo.

The 2022 World Cup bidding process has been covered in controversy since the standard procedures began in early 2010. In May of this year, there were allegations of bribery of two FIFA Executive Committee members. Qatar officials denied these accusations.

Qatar has also been criticized for its climate because temperatures can reach as high as 122 degrees Fahrenheit (50 degrees Celsius). However, Qatar explains that temperature will not be an issue because each stadium has the technology to convert solar energy into electricity that will then be used to “cool both fans and players at the stadium.”

The issue of alcohol has been a concern as well since drinking is currently only consumed in a few bars, hotel restaurants and clubs. The primary concern is where alcohol can be consumed, but chief executive of the Qatar 2022 World Cup bid, Hassan Abdulla al Thawadi, said the government would permit the sale of alcohol during the World Cup.

Another worry is homosexuality. Being gay is presently illegal in Qatar, which is a concern of FIFA President Sepp Blatter who stated: “We (FIFA) don’t want any discrimination. What we want to do is open this game to everybody, and to open it to all cultures, and this is what we are doing in 2022.”

Comments are closed.